top of page

December Newsletter

Updated: Jan 5

In December’s Newsletter we have a report from the second round of the Chiltern League, held at Teardrop Lakes Milton Keynes. With a quick turnaround to the 3rd round fixture at Stopsley Park Luton on Saturday December 2nd. Also a congratulations to our trophy winners at the awards evening. The evening was attended by our club president Dr Frank Newton & Jenny, along with founder member Gerald Lovell & Carolyn.

Chiltern League Cross Country Teardrop Lakes, Milton Keynes - Saturday November 11th

Silson travelled to Milton Keynes, with some key runners injured. Although maintaining their 13th position, the points difference is now very close. It was a battling performance from all our runners, as we try to hold on to our division 1 status. Results U17 men 32nd Jed Ayres Ladies 24th Julie Hammond, 35th Imogen Lancaster, 42nd Helen Heley, 75th Emma Chapple Hyam, 81st Nichola Green, 100th Jayne Cooper, 124th Mel Bignell, 127th Madeleine Moutrie, 136th Sue Torrance, 140th Kim Froggitt, 153rd Sally Stephens, 159th Sophie Clark. Men 88th Mark Conway, 114th Simon Woodward, 132nd Chris Coghlan, 138th Simon Storer, 160th Douglas Gray, 172nd Richard Popiel, 176th Dan Keneally, 181st James Spencer, 184th Olly Meek, 202nd Charlie Purr, 211th Darren Knight, 214th Paul Holmes, 222nd Ben Littlejohn, 253rd Mark Rookley.

Silson Awards Evening Friday November 18th

 Although being heavily refurbished, the SRA was again the venue for Silson Awards evening. Dr Newton kicked off the evening by showing us an award he had won at the Hong Kong half marathon. We were again well fed, with a decent disco to follow.

Silson Trophy Winners

Clubman of the year David Morley

Volunteer of the year Sally Stephens

Chairman’s Achievement Rebecca King

Runners Runner Helen Heley, Zac Noon and Rosemary Heley

Best Newcomer Emma Chapple-Hyam

Most Improved Runners Paul Holmes, Kim Froggitt, Sophie Clark and Amelia Lewis

Frank Newton Trophy Helen Heley

Track & Field Julie Hammond

Cross Country Mark Conway, Julie Hammond and Imogen Lancaster

Winter Cup Stephanie Spencer  Amelia Lewis

Club Standard Bronze Awards: Teresa Cox, James Clarke, Emma Chapple-Hyam, Humphrey Marten, Jake Storer and Lizzie Phipps

Club Standard Silver Awards: Fiona Storer

Club Standard Gold Awards: Julie-Ann Hammond, Toby Heley, Paul Holmes, David Jarret, Kim Frogitt, Hannah St. Leger-Harris, Simon Woodward and Mark Conway

Club Standard Platinum Awards: Richard Popiel, Simon Storer and Helen Heley

December / January Fixtures

Saturday December 2nd Chiltern League Cross Country Luton (coach leaving Towcester 10.45am)

Saturday January 6th County Cross Country Delapre Abbey Northampton (entries now open)

Saturday January 13th Chiltern League Cross Country Watford (coach from Towcester)

Saturday January 27th Midland Counties Cross Country venue tbc.


Training continues at Silverstone Circuit on Wednesdays at 6.30pm. For Sunday runs, please follow Facebook.

Wednesday December 27th Mince Pie Run Everdon Stubbs

Saturday December 30th 10am Fartlek on the County Cross Country Course Delapre Abbey, Northampton


Wishing all Silson members a very Happy Christmas

Graham Linnell


bottom of page